Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


String students shine and compete for the 22nd Maastricht Music Award

22 April 2024

On Saturday, April 20th 2024, we experienced an evening of musical talent at Conservatorium Maastricht as string students competed for the prestigious 22nd Music Award Maastricht. 

After a careful preselection, five outstanding finalists were chosen from the bachelor's and master's students of Conservatorium Maastricht. Under the theme "One night in Vienna," Yanis Grisó, Ioanna Boultadaki, Oleksandr Yukhymovych, Theodore Kim, and Alejandro Ruiz Vàzquez captivated the audience with their virtuosity and interpretations.

The highlight of the evening was the awarding of Theodore Kim, a second-year bachelor's student, who won both the main prize of €5000, and the audience prize of €1000. A professional jury, comprising Reinilde Leyers (chair), Alexandra Van Beveren, Paul Stavridis, and David Poskin, had the challenging task of evaluating the candidates based on their musical and artistic development. The audience also had a say and chose Kim as the audience favourite.

The evening was further enriched by the presentation of Pieter van Nes and the accompaniment of the candidates by pianist Anastasia Goldberg.

The Music Award Maastricht, a collaboration between Rotaryclub Maastricht and Conservatorium Maastricht, symbolizes the connection between culture and business. Through this event and their sponsorship, they provide crucial support to the participants on their path to a successful musical career.

We look forward to the 23rd Music Award Maastricht on April 12th 2025.